why do I follow, unfollow, and re-follow?


Having a blog is interesting; not only in terms of writing, reading and learning from fellow bloggers, but also in terms of understanding my behavior and preferences, including when it comes to who to follow, when and why to unfollow.

The answer to “who to follow” is simple; the topics are interesting and writing is good. These are the primary points. Certainly it is not possible to read the entire list of posts, but a bunch of them usually give me a preliminary idea. Then, I click the follow button. Easy job.

Those who are unfollowed are a different story; I noticed a variety of reasons for unfollowing:

1. Mean, aggressive, violent/dark, or otherwise annoying characters, writings, or comments and interactions with others.

2. Those that use profanity.

3. Those that pressure their readers somehow; for example about their other social media sites – once a blogger said something like that “shame on you if you are not following my this and that site”. Ok buddy; what is that about? Sigh…

4. Those that promote their works, businesses, or skills with NO added value. I am following a number of companies, which posts valuable and useful information – I am happy to follow them. But I am not going to keep following self-promoting blogs (by individuals or companies) for no reason, for nothing valuable in return. Very simple.

5. Those that comment to every single post with text-book like quotes or recommendations. Not genuine! Not at all! (I wrote a post about that a while ago and it was effective; the nonsense at that time had stopped..).

6. Those blogs whose topic is no longer an interest to me. An example is the gardening-related ones that I was very interested in May; this interest unfortunately is gone (though I still keep checking time to time using the “tags” section). There is nothing wrong with these blogs; it is just a matter of my current interests.

7. Those who blog very infrequently; I am more comfortable following the blogs whom I get to know through their posts (and comments), and who add value to my blogging experience. I am not saying everybody should be posting every day or every week, but if the frequency is something like once a month or less, I have difficulty connecting with. Among those that I follow, I have solid connections with a number of bloggers, which make my blogging experience a great one (thank you!).

8. This one is an exception; I unfollowed a blog yesterday because the main theme of the blogger was something that badly depressed me. I would like to respect opinions, especially if they are about the people’s own lives. But I felt totally down with the post yesterday where the blogger, who refused treatment, explained the details of the disease as s/he experienced… I felt not only depressed, but also weird watching this happening…. I should be respecting that person’s decision about her own health and about refusing treatment, but I cannot take the feeling that was created on me. This is the weirdest experience I have had here and I cannot shake it off, not yet.

And then there are those who I re-follow; usually this is the case when the topics were not interesting for me at one point, but later became interesting again. I have a couple of such blogs in my list right now. Thank you for understanding 🙂

I just realized that there may be another reason why I do not follow more than a manageable number of blogs at the same time: I do not have the habit to “block” the blogs where I am in the follower list but choose not to see their posts – to me this would be weird. Whoever I follow, I make sure to read what they gotta say in their posts.

That is all for now. Cheers everyone.

6 thoughts on “why do I follow, unfollow, and re-follow?

Add yours

  1. Well said! I like the more personal blogs, so I feel like I get to know the person. I like people who share their weaknesses as well as their strengths, and I like those who post regularly too. It’s nice to have followers, too. It motivates me to write more often. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the follow. Now the pressure is on 😉. I agree, I prefer blogs that speak from personal experience rather than simply culling facts that appear elsewhere. Sure we know to save a certain amount every month for retirement, but what challenges are there and how are they dealt with interests me.
    I think it’s helpful to share the reality of life too… I thought I was really in total control of our summer budget until I realized our daughter grew 4″ and can’t even fit on her old bike. oops! Budget surprise!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. thanks for the follow back 🙂 I think the recurring theme is that many bloggers are looking for genuine posts that paints an honest and humble picture; with downs and ups, advantages and disadvantages, strengths and limitations, but most importantly with real-life experiences as you said; yes, i would like to save but how do I keep going? what do I do when I slip? how can I change my feelings toward saving and spending, how do I overcome the uneasy feeling when I need to make a big expense. Yep. so how do you deal with this budget surprise?

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

