15 random facts about me :)


By the encouragement of thesmallc, here I am writing some facts about myself. Thesmallc is a great writer (with no reservation I say this); she has a very powerful and genuine pen and incredible insight into life and cancer. Absolutely one of my favorite bloggers (among many others).

Anyways, here are 15 facts about me; surprise, surprise πŸ™‚

  1. Until I started blogging, my primary hobby was to read books. Books are still my favorite items around the house, but blogging has changed me somehow. In a positive way I hope πŸ™‚
  2. I happen to be a bad cook – no question about that. I am not proud of it but that is what it is πŸ™‚
  3. I have a great job that pays a decent salary, yet since I have spent the majority of my lifeΒ at schools and with training, I have little accumulated for my retirement, which I regret real good. Be smart and start saving early! Whatever you make, save a portion of it for your retirement. And start doing this early.
  4. I have got a PhD.
  5. English is not my native language (some of you already sensed that, did you not?) πŸ™‚
  6. Even though I dislike it very much, I keep cleaning my home and doing laundry every weekend 98% of the time. I admire my consistency in this regard.
  7. The first story I wrote was named “Joe and his dog”. I was 7 years old, penned it down on a small blue covered pocket notebook that I still remember…. The story, as you can guess, remainedΒ unfinished.
  8. I have a very serious look; scary if you will. Not that I mean to. Unless I smile, a lot of people think that I am angry or pissed off. I am not angry or pissed off. Well, at least the majority of the time πŸ™‚
  9. When I was a child, music was my greatest interest. Till now, I tried to learn how to play the following instruments: mandolin, flute, and violin. I must say violin is the most elegant, most challenging, and the most admirable one for me. Of course I have not excelled at any of these instruments πŸ™‚
  10. I am a very practical person – can find a temporary fix for almost anything in a split second (unless I am stressed; then the opposite occurs) πŸ™‚
  11. My stress levels can get real high. I do not like that at all. I found exercise is the best remedy, yet I have been too lazy too tired in the last few years to exercise.
  12. I started martial arts at the age of 35; like many other things in my life I was not good at it but it was very good for me! I would recommend everyone, regardless of their age, to give it a try (should they be interested in) at a safe and serious school (i.e. dedicated to the art but not to giving belts, earning money, or kicking the sh.t out of someone else).
  13. I loved opera, not listening to or watching it, but singing it. I was not good at singing opera either (like many of the things in my life I never perfected this skill), but giving it a try has always made me excited and happy πŸ™‚
  14. I have read a lot about leadership and management; I am more suitable for management positions than for the leadership positions (who would follow me??) πŸ™‚
  15. I think my job is the best thing that ever happened to me (other than my family). It keeps my mind working, I like what I do, and it excites me (yet I still dream about retirement; sigh… πŸ™‚ )

And as I already said this in a comment at thesmallc’s blog, I have to make an effort to know which direction is right or left πŸ™‚ All the cab drivers I put into wrong roads/streets, please forgive me! πŸ™‚

cheers everyone

10 thoughts on “15 random facts about me :)

Add yours

  1. Thank you for always being so kind to me. I like your blog too!

    Nancy Stordahl (from Nancy’s Point) initiated this great idea where everyone had to share some random facts about themselves. Wasn’t it fun? I had fun coming up with my list.

    So you sing opera! That’s unique. I def. can’t sing.

    That’s sweet that you liked writing from a very young age. I would have liked to read your first story. I always enjoy reading your tips about saving for retirement — so important. I can get pretty stressed out easily too but my blog is my outlet. What is your native language? English is not my native language either.

    Great list! You’ve accomplished some nice things in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. you are so nice! yes it is interesting how much I was interested in music and literature when I was young. yet I ended up having a profession which has no relation to either of them πŸ™‚ Weird… πŸ™‚ I also wish I had had the little notebook I had started drafting my first story so that we all could see what I have written. what was I thinking? what was the story like? what was the first sentence? how was my hand-writing? It would be amazing πŸ™‚ I know nancy’s point from twitter and I like reading her blog. I am not surprised that you two have ended up getting to know each other; you both are strong voices when comes to cancer patients’ perspectives. keep up the great work (seriously) !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. please please continue your education – it, in the right topic and the right institution, will be so good, so beneficial for you. As per me knowing too much, I actually do not (for example, I wanted to sing opera but could not get lessons/schooling; I have got lessons for all the instruments I tried, but I could not learn them very well :), etc.). I guess it is all about liking things, giving them a try, seeing how you do or feel, and keep exploring things until you find something that clicks well and fills your life. In my case it was my (another) interest in an academic topic that went well and I have been studying/working on it for a long time. I sincerely hope you will learn the piano and be happy, very happy with it! art is awesome πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I love opera and used to sing before 2010 when my neck was re-opened for the third time. My voice box made it through, but my singing voice is gone. Puccini rules, but so does Metallica, Led Zeppelin, Cocteau Twins, Dead Can Dance, Tori Amos, and anything from the hippie era. After reading The School of Essential Ingredients by Erika Bauermeister, I have turned my kitchen into a spice mecca, so you can show me some of those Martial arts moves while I cook for you. I would like to lead my little band of cancer fighters and survivors, but I am new to this blogging, and find myself bumping into unknown objects in the dark. Like you said, “Who would want to follow me?” I will follow you. I think you are a leader. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lara, thank you for your words.. I too have a scar and I understand why the singing voice can go – but hey we can still sing in our minds πŸ™‚ try the martial arts if you want – a good professional club/school that respects the art and teaches it in a safe manner is a must (otherwise people think that they can hurt you/injure you and that is okay). No it is not okay. I am a fan of Aikido but could not find a school for myself yet; it is very gentle and it is not attack-based. good luck with cooking and you will find many cancer patients and survivors here – they are all amazing. Just search for the tag “cancer” and you will find many blogs to go through. best

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

