possessing versus feeling abundant


I have been shopping less items in the last few months as part of my “consciously spending” plan.  I was not necessarily limiting the goods I need; only that in order to minimize the waste and save some money along the way, I had decided to shop on a need-to-buy basis. That sometimes meant going to the store more than once a week, but overall worked wonders with me: I wasted much less fresh produce than I usually would. And that made me happy and proud. I also saved money.

This week I have taken a step further and purchased even less amount of food. I bought two tomatoes rather than four for example. And how did I feel while preparing and eating food at home? Very abundant. Every single food in my fridge is valuable. Every single one of them…

I think the point is not to have too many; but to be aware and appreciative of what I already have. Being aware of items is easy when they are visible (e.g. not behind many items in the fridge/pantry) and being appreciative is easy when we know that what we got are (limited and thus) valuable.

Many people said and many books written this I am sure. But it is by experience I remember this once again.

So I am voluntarily on a budget and rather than feeling restricted, I am feeling more abundant…. Life works in wondrous ways 🙂

I want to see whether I can get more aware and more appreciative of what I purchase next time; maybe I can try “the $21 challenge” I came across at https://growingsnowballs.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/the-21-challenge-achieved-well-almost-save-money-frugal-shopping/

Give it a try should you wish and share with us how it goes.

best,

9 thoughts on “possessing versus feeling abundant

Add yours

  1. I found that I just hate to be wasteful at have taken to attempting to use up everything in my refrigerator. I have also don’t a cooking thru your pantry challenge caused me to be very creative and intentional with my food.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I have been reading about this too re; using up everything in the fridge/freezer and the pantry (was it your blog?). I like the idea and am planning to do it too. I agree with you on waste – what a terrible thing. I will be looking into ways to store the fresh produce in ways that keep then fresh longer; I think that will further limit any waste I may have. cheers 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I learned about this from growing up in a third-world country. There I didn’t have much choice but to safe and appreciate the little I had. This added a kind of value to my life that I wouldn’t change for anything in the world. Then I moved to the states where I had a lot more opportunities to have “more” than what I had growing up.

    After I got sick I started seeing things so differently. I went back to who I was growing up. I realized that nothing we own will come with us after we die. All we need is a place to sleep, shower, eat and be peaceful. Space is important to me. I haven’t bought furniture in years but that’s because growing up I realized we don’t really need much, except health and experience. Great experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have had frugal times, decades even when I was a child and throughout the majority of my student life (which was very long 🙂 ) I guess many people in our current lives would find abundance in the form of material as many things not available 5-10 years ago are now very affordable (e.g. cell phones). I think it is true that as the funds available to one increases, the expenses also increase. I used to think that I had “deserved” to take the cab and make my life very comfortable and easy (plus, it cost me cheaper than having a car), but then this kind of thinking did not help me with saving funds for future and unexpected expenses. I agree with you that health and wellness, not only of mine but of people I care about, are the most important thing and the rest of the material problems hopefully can be overcome over time, even though I need to be reminded about this as small stuff in life sometimes take a big space in my mind 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

