frugality, risk of deprivation, and a solution


Although I am budgeting, I am not an extreme frugal.

Although I see a lot of benefit and satisfaction out of budgeting and saving, one thing I see as a threat to continuing to keep my budget is the feeling of deprivation.

I have never been interested in cutting necessary expenses or stopping pampering myself (though I did remove the unnecessary expenses, and reduce or substitute the items/services I need); I knew that if I felt constrained too much by my budget, I would likely turn unhappy and then naturally start spending as before. The secret of a successful budget is that it works for you, not you work for it.

The authors (The Simple Dollars) of this article in length discusses one way to abolish the possibility of deprivation while budgeting and saving: Substitution. Substituting the store-brand items with name-brand items as one example. Studying at the library rather than a cafe. There are many other examples that can be inspirational and resourceful. I for one substituted the bus with cab for my transportation and I am saving quite a bit every day.

This article generally made sense to me. If you are interested in, take a look yourself.

4 thoughts on “frugality, risk of deprivation, and a solution

Add yours

  1. If you believe in affirmations then repeat this daily as many times a day as you remember to: “I’m so happy and grateful that money comes to me in increasing quantities from multiple sources on a continuous basis.” Every time I spend time saying this, within a few days unexpected money comes to me…honest to goodness!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. :))) that is so interesting. I remembered the time when I had read a similar thing in a book and seriously finding it interesting (meaning I found it unbelievable). It is not logical, right? How can you wish for something and it can just appear? Anyways, in a week or so, I have got project money! I think it is just a coincidence but hey, it does not mean that one cannot try 🙂 [I think this kind of affirmations does not bring something to us, but by focusing on that something, maybe we notice it more when it arrives to us. I do not know really…]

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

