how teased are we by the characters in the GoT?


I really would like to know how the author George RR Martin writes his Game of Thrones themed books; does he plan everything from the beginning on, or does he improvise as time goes on?

There are so many characters in the series that are generally good (e.g. Ned Stark, Robb Stark) and some who are generally bad (e.g. Cersei Baratheon, Joffrey Lannister).

While they are characters with bad nature, who has not felt for Cersei after the walk of shame or for Joffrey after his death?

I know these stories develop in a world and time quite different than ours, so we cannot possibly understand it, but I keep wondering whether the author is constantly teasing us (by evoking opposite emotions on the same character time to time)?

And in the case of character Jamie Lannister; boy did we hate it at the beginning for his arrogant behavior, by pushing a 10 years old child (Bran) from a high window, for being in love with his own sister and fathering 3 kids with her, and all bunch of trolling it has done to others, and killing his own cousin or someone to escape from capture by the Starks, just to name a few.

Now, after an obvious transformation after he has lost his right hand and a change in the behavior (though we still need to remember that he is not all noble or has completely redeemed himself yet; this I say mostly based on his rape of Cersei, which I heard does not happen in the books but only in the HBO series), a substantial portion of the readers/audience are applauding this character. How have we forgotten what he has done? Is through understanding the reasons of his past behavior do we forgive? Or is thru the most recent impression (which is a much positive one) we do forget his past and see him as he is today as if he has always been?

I expect more twists, more tease from the author George RR Martin; I guess that is his writing style. Based on my own amateur writing experience (which I found full of hard corners where things or emotions change in completely opposite directions in a split second), although I must say I am teased quite a bit, I also feel that this experience is good for my own development as a naive writer.

 

4 thoughts on “how teased are we by the characters in the GoT?

Add yours

  1. I wonder about how Martin creates these characters. Everything storyline and detail is so intricately intertwined…it’s amazing. I may need to indulge in rewatching previous seasons during my down days. 🙂 Keep these thoughts coming, I am enjoying them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. me to!! I cannot wait to figure out that. But first I would like to read the books – hopefully they will arrive next week. It is way too interesting.. they say the 6th book will not be available before the HBO starts the season 6 next spring…. that is going to be interesting too; I cannot wait to see how the series and the story itself will develop. The author did an amazing job 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

