GoT – why can I not read it as much as I wished?


Reading the “A Song of Ice and Fire” book series by GRRM has turned out to be a long and tedious job for me.

Why? I wonder.

When I have ordered them, I could not  wait for them to arrive. And when they did a week later, I started reading them right away.

This has been a month ago. I just finished the 1st book – A Game of Thrones – last week and I have read the first 76 pages of the 2nd book – A Clash of Kings.

Pretty slow reading I have here……

Why can I not feel the excitement and the enthusiasm to dwell into reading these books?

I have three hypotheses:

  1. The fact that I have seen the show, I am kind of not interested in the books that much (although I also recognize that the book is deeper and gives more or additional details and points of view, dreams, or thoughts than the TV show)
  2. Since the author GRRM places seemingly unimportant yet critical-to-understand-the-story-type-of-clues here and there frequently, I want to pay attention to each sentence, which is tiring…
  3. I have favorite characters, like Jamie, Tyrion, Arya, and Brienne, and the rest of the characters unfortunately bore me. This hypothesis is more likely to be true as I am really bored about and not that into the Daenerys or Salsa characters. As a matter of fact, I believe I dislike both of these characters. There, I said it.

Unfortunately it looks like Daenerys is an important character in the story and as such there will be no escape from her. The same for Sansa.

Argh…

Maybe I should just get an HBO subscription and watch the Season 6 starting in April rather than going thru this “OMG-how-come-I-can-not-read-a-book-I-am-so-interested-in” dilemma.

 

6 thoughts on “GoT – why can I not read it as much as I wished?

Add yours

  1. I have the same problem. I’ve had the books for awhile on my kindle and the hubby read it pretty quickly. Me, I can barely get through a chapter, and I love to read. I’ve probably started the book (the first one) 5-6 times. I finally gave up but then got it on audible. I find I enjoy listening to it better than read it. I’m working my way through the first book but I need to be in a certain mood to listen to it so it’s still slow going but much better than reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had not thought about the audio book so far, which is interesting to me now… so nice to hear that I am not the only one who cannot read the books anytime she wishes – thanks for dropping by ! 🙂

      Like

  2. I agree, Sansa is one very annoying and painful character. She needs to be there though but she annoys me to no end as well. I adore Arya and Brienne and Tyrion like you. I dont mind ‘looking’ at Jon Snow on the TV series as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hah haa 🙂 so you like Jon Snow? he is a little bit too dramatic, that boy is. I feel for this character – the way he feels about him being a bastard and the way some seniors treat him in the Watch. I have not read the chapter yet, but at the show when he leaves Ygritte behind always made me feel like he betrayed her. Which I do not like, but then again I really hoped he could turn his life around. Now that he is dead too we will never know I guess.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

