TV shows I have been watching lately


Okay; so I finished the 1st season of Secrets and Lies, the USA version (looks like it is an adaptation from an Australian series). It consists of around 10 episodes, where a married man with two children one morning finds the dead body of a little boy he knows and becomes the prime suspect after that.

It was an interesting story with lots of adversity (e.g. the man’s marriage has fallen apart; the dead boy turned out to be his own (after a brief relationship with the boy’s mom, which he learnt only after the death of the child); the mom turned out to be bipolar and had another child previously died etc etc. There is such a drama unfolding around these two families that it is an interesting watch. The acting is not my favorite, especially Juliette Lewis as Detective Andrea Cornell – she is so dull and so serious in this production that I got cold by just watching her. The season finale is shocking though; so I would highly recommend you to give it a try if you are interested in mystery series.

Just a few hours ago, I have started to watch the Six Feet Under. What I read about this series is amazing, yet the 1st episode did not captivate me, to tell you the truth. Plus, the topic is death and people’s reactions and the feelings it induce; while I am open to think, read, and write about death after the death of my own father, I do not think that I can take all these feelings right now. So, it is very likely that I will not be watching the rest of the series.

……….

Though I just realized that this series gives grief, my grief, a voice and I feel tremendous amount of understanding… For example when the Nate character is keen about living the grief, rather than hiding it because of social expectations (e.g. the visitation and the burial scene). That is how exactly I have grieved; I did not care about the people’s expectations from me. I was in pain and I cried. I as a matter of fact wanted to cry and feel this tremendous loss. With people around, this is not possible. And all the stupid things they keep saying: “he is in a better place now. he had a good life (by the way this mostly came from people who did not know my dad; how did they know that? Sure thing that they made assumptions. But they have not realized that assumptions are non-specific, non-sincere, and as such, are hurtful).

I remain firm that when faced with the loss of a loved one, all words are meaningless….So, let’s give each other a break.

Anyways, if there is one TV series that I can keep watching is the Sleepy Hollow. I give it a 10 out of 10; the character Ichabod Crane and his mannerism (and acting) has been my favorite. I believe I have watched the entire series at least twice and I can do that again 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “TV shows I have been watching lately

Add yours

  1. I like 6 feet under. Love the concept of the show.

    When I was younger, I wanted to own a funeral home. In fact, one of my fiance’s relatives owned one. This is one of the things that attracted me about him (don’t worry, I am not a freak). Anyway, after researching about the business, I realized I could not do it, even if I was able to afford it. I can’t charge people for their pain. But I am not judging those who do. It is a business after all. So then I considered doing make up for the dead. Then I thought, wait, I can’t do children. No way! So I guess I have to limit myself to watching a show about a funeral home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. you always have had interesting stories to say about yourself Rebecca 🙂 honestly I never been warm to death or funerals, but I this series makes things a little bit interesting. I took a break for now, but am planning to go back again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

