excitement is a lovely thing


I have been thinking; in the last one year or so I have had a number of things in my life that excited me. Lucky me πŸ™‚

Last June, I started my budget. It was tough and frustrating time to time, but planning for it and monitoring the progress was interesting and somehow exciting.

In the Fall, I have had a couple of international trips. These trips were exciting in many different ways – the change, seeing new places, better weather, being away from the office and everyday routine.

Then in late Fall, I became interested in theΒ Game of Thrones and ordered the first 5 books of the series. I read everything on the net and did complete reading the first book.

Then came the new year and I did two things that excited me; a better budget that allows me to spend much less and save much more. I also started yoga/stretching classes. Both gave me double-dose of excitement with their positive effects on me.

And then in the last two weeks or so, I became interested in baking. I am struggling with yeast-bread recipes but at least I have seen today that I can make excellent tea biscuits. i decided to try baking bread again this week, this time with baking powder. I want to just see that I can make it (recipes seem to be easier with baking powder…). And then I will switch back to yeast recipes. I am determined not to buy another store made bread in my life as long as I am capable of baking my own bread.

I like that. I had not noticed how much fed up I was with the store made breads, especially the toast breads. man, why did I buy and consume these chemical-full and untasty food for so long while I am fully capable of making my own? According to my calculations, it is also way cheaper to make the bread than buying it. Why did I not think about this before?

i wonder what else I can make my own and stop buying.

I am doing my own pickles since last year, too, which is great. I do not consume them too often but when I need it, I know they are there for me. Making my own bread will be something significant and I am very much looking forward to this. One other thing I always wanted to do is to stop buying canned beans and cooking them myself using a pressure cooker. i am scared of that equipment; have heard bad stories with the pressure and steam. But hey, maybe my new project can be that.

What else could I make myself?

Growing herbs or veggies is something that can make me happy. The climate where I am is not suitable for greens, but maybe I can manage to grow potatoes in the yard or herbs inside the house. I bought a small pot of rosemary last week, which I hope to keep and use in baking and cooking. It looks like a study type of herb that I can keep alive.

let’s cross the finger πŸ™‚

 

6 thoughts on “excitement is a lovely thing

Add yours

  1. Excitement is a lovely thing! You are so right about that…tea biscuits sound delicious. I think you might be able to grow herbs inside, there’s a blog I follow, https://gm1123.wordpress.com/, and Gretchen grows her own veggies and herbs she may be able to give you some helpful hints…she has quite the green thumb. You are inspiring me to make breads, it really is such a great idea! I might try it too. Keeping my fingers crossed!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ™‚ we all gotta find somethings that makes us forgot the heaviness of our lives, worries, or hurdles. i am sure you have your own excitements but I really wish you have had tried baking bread and excelling it! I am so looking forward to baking a good loaf of bread (hopefully this week). And thanks for the link – I am checking her blog.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes we do! I’ve decided to make a list of things I want to accomplish this summer, I added to read Harry Potter, now I’ll add bake bread!! You are very welcome, she has quite the green thumb! πŸ™‚ Let me know how your next bread comes out.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

