tea biscuit trial – a success story! :)


My friends!

I am so excited! I baked my first tea biscuits today and on boy, are they beautiful, flaky, and tasty! I am so excited!

For someone who is not a great cook or interested in cooking at all, my recent interest in baking makes me awed. After the initial idea that came to me yesterday, I shopped this afternoon and wanted to give tea biscuits a try before I bake for the social on Friday. I am glad I have done this 🙂

The recipe is based on a great one, which is accompanied by a video clip. This eased my anxiety and made me more confident as there is nothing better than seeing how to do things or what to expect. Here is that recipe.

Since I do not have measuring cups and used a different oven temperature, here is my recipe with slight modifications:

  1. In a bowl mix the followings well with the help of a spoon
  • 550 ml of all purpose enriched flour (measured in a liquid measuring cup – I only later realized that one side of the cup shows the “cup” and the other “ml” measures. Sigh…)
  • 1.5 tea spoon of white sugar
  • 0.75 tea spoon of salt (less than the sugar)
  • 1.5 tea spoon of baking powder

2. Cut out 150 grms of salted butter. I took it directly from the fridge and cut into pieces over the bowl. I then mixed it with my hands into the flour. It does not completely mix with it, but that is okay. The idea is to crumble it a little bit. I recommend using unsalted butter only because the final product was saltier than I expected, and there was no or little sweetness in it. Perhaps the sugar amounts can also be increased, depending on the taste.

3. Add 1/2 cup of milk (I used skimmed milk – if you use whole fat milk, you may want to reduce the amount of butter) to the mixture and work gently on the mixture. Add another 1/2 cup of milk and continue until you end up with a rough dough-like stuff. they recommend not to mix it too much. As a lazy person, I did take this suggestion to my heart 🙂

4. On a clean surface, sprinkle some flour and place the dough. Knead 5 times using the fold and stretch technique.

5. Using your hands, spread the dough until its thickness is less than an inch. (This is where I made it a little bit too thick…. The biscuits were higher than what I thought they would be as they also expanded in the oven. So adjust the height/thickness of the dough as you please). Then I followed the recipe and folded it on itself – this is supposed to help the biscuit slightly separate in the middle during the baking process.

6. Cut out the biscuits as you please. I used a glass to do so, which had an oval shape.

7. Sprinkle vegetable oil on an oven pot and place the biscuits on it.

8. Bake at 400 F for 27 min. I used a lower temperature than recommended (425 F) because I am scared of higher temperatures. I took the biscuits out when their surface had started to get brownish. That explains the awkward timing 🙂

9. I applied solid butter on top of the biscuits to soften them. This is not a very effective technique, but certainly doable – just be generous with the amount of butter. Since the biscuits are hot, after a couple of trials, I could see butter on the biscuits.

10. Enjoy with a cup of tea! 🙂

PS: as you can see on the photos, one of the biscuits has crumbled a little bit. This is how flaky it turned out to be 🙂

IMG_8336IMG_8338

6 thoughts on “tea biscuit trial – a success story! :)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

