Special joy journal – July 27, 2016: things that I have acquired while I was on vacation


IMG_9218
this is what my new throw looks like. Love the colour, softness, and the little pieces on it – all made with love πŸ™‚
IMG_9221
this little piece is one of my favorites πŸ™‚
IMG_9223
I love this one too πŸ™‚

 

Every time I am home for vacation, I was showered by gifts by my family and friends. I also find a chance to shop as my homeland is not only affordable but also has a variety of items that I cannot find where I am.

This year too I was blessed with many gifts and purchased items. I have been feeling pretty excited about them, which prompted me to write this special entry πŸ™‚

1. I am grateful for the soaps I have bought! They are the softest bath soaps I can ever imagine. The bright green color gives me peace; their softness and foam are incredibly soothing; and i am lucky to have had 6 of them. I feel like I do not have to think about buying another soap for quiet a long time. I am so excited πŸ™‚

2. I am grateful for the blouse I found. It is soft to touch, has lovely little flowers along the fabric, and is a delight to wear. It is also much more girlish than the shirts that I usually wear at the office πŸ™‚

3. I am grateful for the winter boots and the walking shoes I have bought. This is the third year that I have been buying the same brand of shoes/boots from the same store. The winter boots are awesome; sturdy and water proof,Β andΒ I could not be happier to have them here where the winter is pretty harsh. I have been using the first pair I bought three years ago in the last two years and I believe they will be good to go for another year. I have two new pairs of winter boots now, which means that I do not have to think about buyingΒ winter boots for quite sometime. I have the same positive experience and feelings for my walking shoes; the one that I am wearing is 2 years old. It has been battered a little bit, so I am happy to replace it with the new pair I bought this year. They are comfy and pretty πŸ™‚ What a peace of mind to have all of these ! πŸ™‚

4. I am grateful for my new throw! I used to have a nice one for years, which I kind of burnt over the stove while I was trying to help my dough get risen πŸ™‚ So my sister bought me a nice soft fabric, cut it out for me, and fixed the corners and trims with a lovely embroidery. For some reason, I wanted to make it colourful so I knitted around 20 different, little pieces and glued on the fabric. The end result is really cool! Each piece was improvised and I love looking at them. their shapes and colour gave me joy πŸ™‚

5. I am grateful for the spices I bought or were given by my family members: crushed chilly peppers (thanks mom), dried mint (thank you aunt) πŸ™‚ I sure will lovingly use and consume them πŸ™‚

6. I am grateful for the sesame, nigella, and poppy seeds that I bought to be used duringΒ my bread-baking adventures πŸ™‚

7. I am grateful for the corn flour that I bought. I have been meaning to try corn bread for sometime. This excitement cannot be missed now πŸ™‚

8. I am grateful for the cat figurines that my sister gave me – they are so cute I do not know where in the house to display them πŸ™‚

9. I am grateful for the little painting in a beautiful frame that my sister gave me. She has done an amazing job with the colours as well as the frame… I will cherish it for ever πŸ™‚

10. I am grateful for the big tea glass that my sister-in-law has given me. It is one of a kind πŸ™‚ I guess it holds around 500 ml of liquid so that means one glass of tea will be more than enough for the day πŸ™‚

11. I am grateful for the purse that may sister made for me. My sister has been interested in this kind of stuff for some time and I must admit she has been doing an amazing job. She made maybe 20 purses, each of which are unique and improvised. The one that I have got has 40 different and unique embroidery-like pieces on the body and the strap. The colours are all nice and joyful, too. I am so lucky πŸ™‚

12. I am grateful for getting two memorials from my dad’s house (he sadly passed away last winter): his cell phone and an old bowl that I remember was around for decades…. I am glad I have found this chance to keep his presence around me right here inΒ my own home..

13. I am grateful for the black sweater and the dark-reddish jacket that my mom knitted for me πŸ™‚

14. I am grateful for the basket that I bought to proof my loafs in! I made it! I found something to do this very important job. It is lovely and my mom and sister also made clothes to put in it to help prevent dough sticking to the basket. cannot wait to try all of these πŸ™‚ I also bought a little sharp knife that I will use to score the surface of the dough prior to baking them in the oven. I am anything but excited about everything I have to help me with the bread-baking adventures πŸ™‚

15. I am grateful for the freezer bags that my mom gave me. well.. here too we have freezer bags, yet these are so nice and easy to use thatI could not help but pack 5 packages with me πŸ™‚

16. I am grateful for the rice. Its grains are bigger than what we can find here – just the type that I love!

2 thoughts on “Special joy journal – July 27, 2016: things that I have acquired while I was on vacation

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

