bread; with or without milk


img_9819
today’s bread with water (instead of milk) – not bad, is it? 🙂

I baked a loaf with milk that was risen over-night at the fridge and another one without milk and risen at room temperature during the day.

I love the milk in bread because it makes it quite soft; in the last few weeks that is how I was baking my loafs. Today I wanted to give a try to plain bread (i.e. with water) to move out of my comfort zone and to strive for making a bread without the help of the milk.

I guess, it turned out to be great 🙂

I used 3 cups of bread flour, 1.5 cup of water (warmed and mixed with 1.5 tbs of sugar and 1 tbs of dry yeast; rested at room temperature at a warm place; a.k.a. on top of the stove, for 10 min to activate), and 1.5 tbs of salt all mixed up with the help of a spoon. I did 4 rounds of stretch and fold at 25 min intervals. Dough did not look great, but honestly I did not care much today 🙂 Took the dough on a floured surface, extended and then folded to form a baton shape, proofed at room temperature for 1 hr 15 min, and baked at the pre-heated oven and in a roaster for 30 min (20 min lid on, and 10 min with open lid). (Since the yesterday’s bread was somehow almost burn at the bottom, I reduced the oven time for this loaf.)

It is soft and certainly airy 🙂 For a recipe this short, I would not expect to see such a great loaf, but I guess the warm environment really helped; I keep my dough (while rising or proofing) on the stove, which I turn on for 30 seconds or so to give warmth a couple of times. The containers are covered by thick towels to conserve heat. In my experience these work better than keeping the dough in a warm oven, because I usually turn out to over-proof.

Another thing I notice is that with shaggy (i.e. high hydration dough), it helps to have the surface of the dough covered with a thin layer of flour; I think it helps with not only limiting dehydration, but also with giving the surface a nice relatively stronger layer.

So my two cents is  that next time you find yourself in hurry or lazy, try to keep the dough and the yeast warm and make sure to flour the surface 🙂

My second two cents is that the dough with milk gives a better looking crust with rich colour – I love it 🙂

 

today’s bread (with water):

yesterday’s bread (with milk):

6 thoughts on “bread; with or without milk

Add yours

  1. I started baking with water out of sheer laziness; I need to heat up milk a bit, but with water I can simply use warm tap water. This also means one pot less, haha. Now and then I do make something with milk, but water usually works just fine for me. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I found that milk makes it easier – I have been thinking maybe it can keep the warmth and provide a more nourished environment for the yeast to flourish. who knows? my last attempt with water was successful; should I replicate these results then I will switch to water 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    1. it has only been recently that I started to get the air pockets. I wish I knew the reason(s)! 🙂 The bread with milk almost always gives nice ones. Bread with water needs some adjustment on my side. try with milk if you wish and see how it goes?

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

