is there something called “excitement addiction”?


I feel like I am addicted to excitement and am in constant need of feeling it.

I have been feeling really good, happier, more excited, and calmer in the last 6 weeks or so (I am so grateful for this). These has been mainly because I was able to walk more and see that I have had my energy back; I was able to save more and as a result, buy more (of those that I needed);  I was losing weight and feeling a little bit better; I had developed a new interest (sewing); and I was able to eat better with more diverse and healthier food.

Doing/feeling each of these great things almost every day/week was a constant source of joy and pride that made me excited! 🙂

Yesterday and today I feel like meh for no apparent reason, even though I have so much to be grateful and joyful about.

Is it because these beautiful things/activities became a routine? 

Perhaps it is true – too much of something great may not constantly feel good over the long run. Perhaps I should refrain from and miss those first, for example shopping, to enjoy it next time…Dully noted…

Or maybe, I need to strive/plan/work towards something new?

Oh well.

Maybe all I need is a sewing project 🙂

 

14 thoughts on “is there something called “excitement addiction”?

Add yours

  1. In life everything ebbs and flows…just like the ocean. Our emotions are cyclical and while you have been in a great 6 week cycle, things changed and you started feeling meh, completely normal. You are not addicted to excitement, you just reached a valley that may last for a few days or a little longer. Walking in nature is a great cure for this and that fact that you have been walking more should help you to get out of the doldrums quickly. You’ll be fine, perhaps you should sew while waiting for this to pass. Note it in your journal…after time you should see a pattern! Great job on all you are doing…well done!! You must feel very proud! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

