the sound of shovels


The weather is really acting; we have had snow, frozen rain, and the rain all within hours…

I shoveled the ice pellets from the front of the house and heavily salted it. Many of my neighbors are out and abound too. It is a normal part of our winter lives to hear the shovel hitting the road; one shovel at a time…Slowly without much of a rush…One of my neighbors had told me that his grand dad died suddenly while sitting on his chairย after shoveling. “He had a good life and good death”, my neighbour said.

I had read somewhere recently that shoveling or physical activity in cold weather may tax the heart; cold through the open parts such as hands, feet, and face may slow down the blood circulation, which may lead the heart to work harder. It does make sense to me and I wonder whether that is one of the reasons that shoveling is usually done slowly. After reading this, I started to slow my shoveling too (I was usually like a machine focused on finishing the work at hand, a.k.a. shoveling – I consciously am slowing down now).

I hope all of you out there who are shoveling take it easy, and return safely back to home to a hotย cup of tea or soup accompanied with fresh home-made biscuits, and your loved ones ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “the sound of shovels

Add yours

    1. I wish I was like you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I always rush things – finishing things are more important for me than taking thing easy ๐Ÿ™‚ but after the story of my neighbours, I am making a good effort to take it easy with shoveling. A progress on my side! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

