Sunday Sourdough anyone?


Friends; have a look at this 25% whole wheat – 75% bread flour sourdough!

Is it not magnificent? ๐Ÿ™‚

With no ego I can tell this is the finest loaf of mine yet.

Sticky dough absolutely pays off – in my experience sticky (that literally sticks lightly-but not overly to your hand when you stretch and fold, or otherwise handle it) yields the softest bread with the best crumb.

This one was baked on a cookie sheet at 375F for 50 min (for 20 min of which it was covered with a lid to prevent the surface from burning).

I no longer use the roaster to bake my loaves, which gives me loaves with much thinner crust (which I love)!

Happy baking everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

17 thoughts on “Sunday Sourdough anyone?

Add yours

    1. please do give it a try! ๐Ÿ™‚ I started my sourdough adventure last august-September. it is very exciting… I love these tiny yeast doing all these interesting stuff. with every loaf it just gets better. best with yours! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. I’ve had a lot of failures in my sourdough baking which were frustrating, especially as my yeast bakes have (always) turned out but I kept trying. I even made a 2nd starter and over the last 3-4 months I’ve got a lot more successes than in the year since I started. It’s been a steep learning curve. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. it requires time. I have been trying sourdough since late august and the loaves I baked the last few weeks are alright really… it is mostly dependent on the starter. lately my starter got better; more robust and stronger even though it is winter and I do nothing to keep my levain etc warm. I just think that over time it just gets better, maybe because the flour or the conditions change. I wish I knew – yeast is so interesting ! ๐Ÿ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. The 2nd starter is much sturdier but I also think I’m learning more about what adjustments to make to the recipe to accommodate things like humidity in the air. I also don’t have an accurate scale so recipes that require precise measurements aren’t ones that work for me.

            My biggest successes have been with a tartine type recipe and one I got from a FB group I belong to (Carole L.)

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I tried starer 4 times; the first 3 did not happen ๐Ÿ™‚ like yourself I do not have a scale either. for an unknown reason I do no try recipes but rather love to improvise ๐Ÿ™‚ lately I have not been using measuring cups but rather “feel” the dough ๐Ÿ™‚ very interesting feeling, indeed. winter dough was nice (in my experience dough that is risen in the fridge or outside in cold temp (like 17C) overnight always yield great loaves… it is very interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

              1. I only made 2 starters, about a year apart. The 2nd one with pineapple juice (canned) and whole wheat flour was the best one. I used to open the fridge door to see the rise of the small storage jar I had in there after feeding. I’ve dried a bunch of it and my only attempt to rehydrate gave me an active starter I could bake with in about 4 days. My main issue with starters is that I don’t have the patience to let it rise as long as it needs to.

                And then I rush to bake/cut when done. ๐Ÿ™‚

                I should really post the 2 batches of French baguettes I made this month. One with yeast and one with all starter.

                Like

    1. ha haaa! I heard such stories before – so it is real! ๐Ÿ™‚ it is up to you but I cannot do without baking a loaf or two of sourdough every weekend. so much fun and it is such a digestible bread ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

