The day of sourdough – Sunday


IMG_0624

IMG_0634

You know I bake sourdough bread every Sunday. Since each dough, each loaf is different, Sundays are usually very exciting times for me 🙂

This baby is part semolina sourdough – my second take on semolina.

My experience with semolina flour has been consistently good really, but it is true that it does not rise, so I used only a cup in this loaf. There is something nice about it that helps yield a great dough, even though I cannot put my finger on it. Let me know if you have any idea 🙂

Recipe:

Like other times, I fed the starter on Friday, and then again on Saturday morning.

On Saturday afternoon, I added 3/2 cup starter, 1 cup water, and 2 tbs sugar and mixed it well with a fork. Then I added 1 cup semolina flour, 3/2 cup bread flour, and 1.5 tbs salt and mixed everything well using my hand. 

The rest is very similar to other times (check this) except that I proved the loaf at room temperature for 8 hours today – only because I stepped out for a quick shopping trip, bumped into friends, and spent (lovely) time with them, so when I returned back home it was already 8 hours of proofing 🙂 

I was scared that it would be over-proved, but it was not – the loaf turned out to be great; I think if it was sticky, it would not shape this well and would possibly end up being over-proven. So I feel lucky this time 🙂 

Happy baking! 🙂

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The day of sourdough – Sunday

Add yours

  1. Nice looking bread. I’ve added semolina to my SD bakes as well as when I’ve made pasta. It’s a nice addition. I do have a question about the way you write your recipes though … just as a matter of consistency. You write 3/2 cup which I assume is 1 1/2 cup and 1.5 tbs which I assume is 1 1/2 tbsp. I’m curious why the variation in numbering. I think it’s the teacher in me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

