Be humble


I have had a meeting with my unit lead this afternoon about my performance.. Hah ha!!! She did not say it was a performance review as I actually report to someone else but she is the head of our unit so she thinks she has a say in it. As someone who is not good about advertising herself and her team, I actually appreciated the opportunity to present myself in paper. So, I was okay to send her, as per her request, my entire CV listing my work and accomplishments, and see her reaction. Well, sufficient to say that now she has a better idea about my capabilities and work. Great! 🙂

I am nevertheless slightly scared because when someone above you asks for performance related information, it may mean one thing. I doubt that the information I presented would be somehow used to fire me, but you never know with people; if they have the intention they can always find something to brag about. I hope that will not be the case. Let’s cross the finger.

It is hard to work in an environment that you always watch your back and cannot trust people’s intentions. I realize that I do that sometime with my team members if their performance is not satisfactory. Glad to say that I am very ashamed of myself for doing this and I hope I will never let them feel such work-place toxicity again.

So the best lesson I have learnt today was to be humble. And it feels good.

Denyse GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

gif by:https://giphy.com/gifs/goals-hustle-everyone-is-just-trying-to-make-it-xT1XGBfvWzZ8JsgFpK

4 thoughts on “Be humble

Add yours

      1. We all do, sometimes!! It’s normal to get upset when you feel like other people are failing or being too slow or not doing enough or making a mistake. We just need to take a step back and remember we are human too and we might annoy others as well. In the end, we just need more tolerance towards each other. You’re definitely not the only one!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

