adventures with kefir


I have had the excitement of owningย kefir grains in the last one month ๐Ÿ™‚

At first I left the kefir grains+milk mixture in a jar on the counter with only the top/lid being covered by a clean piece of cloth (secured with elastic band). I replaced milk everyday, directly from fridge. It did not get thick (that is, curdy) but tasted tangy and salty in 24 hours. I kept it that way for a week or so.ย 

Then I decided to wrap it with a kitchen towel and hoped that it warmed it and helped with fermentation. It did not make a huge difference in fermentation/texture/taste I would say.

Then I decided to put it in a cabinet and wrap with a thicker towel, away from sunlight. Again, there was no significant change.

Then, my sister convinced me to use warm milk; basically I put the fresh milk in a clean jar, covered the top, and put it in hot water bed for 10-15 min to warm it up. I then added the grains in warmed milk and also covered it with a thicker blanket. I replaced the milk everyday, and then started to change it every two days. These changes occurred last weekend (June 3-4). There was some thickening of the milk (curd) around the grains and there was some kind of mucus-like thing going on around the grains, but again there was not significant change in the texture.ย 

Then my best friend gave me the idea to warm up the thick blanket in the dryer to help fermentation. I did this starting this weekend – 3-4 min in dryer is enough. I did this whenever I changed the milk.

And a couple of day later, yesterday to be exact, I have had the kefir fermented in 12 hours! ๐Ÿ™‚

I have removed the grains, fed them with fresh milk (which nicely gave me another batch of kefir today), and left the fermented kefir at room temperature away from sunlight (not covered by anything, except the lid) yesterday. This is called “second fermentation” by sources in internet. It started to separate (the curd and whey) a few hours after that and this evening I planned to make cheese/spread out of it (total of 24 hours of second fermentation).ย 

It was very easy.

It turns out if you leave it like that, the curd naturally moves up and it almost drains itself of the liquid part (i.e. whey). When used the spoon, I was surprised by how solid it felt ๐Ÿ™‚ the bottom part where the curd touches the whey is naturally a little bit wet, but one can strain/drain this using a strainer (I did not this time, but I am planning next time). I added some salt, chili flakes, and dried dill to my first ever kefir spread! Yum ๐Ÿ™‚

A couple of notes: I noticed that if I warm up the milk and the blanket, the jar/grains keeps warm for quite some time (for hours) and it is especially important to keep it warm where the grains are; my grains are always on the surface so covering the top/lid of the jar really good with a clean piece of cloth first and then with warm, thick blanket is a good idea.

Also, the fermentation temperature seems to make a difference; when it is colder temps, then it is more sour/tangy. However when it is fermented in a warmer environment, then it is not. There must be some bacteria that like colder temps and produce the tangy taste.

I used 2% or homogenized milk. I am not sure whether skim milk would yield such robust kefir grains. I must also say that there has not been significant change in the size or numbers of the kefir grains since I adopted them a month ago.

Overall, I am very excited and would love to try a cheese or two using the kefir curd. Here is one recipe that makes it sound really easy. Hope I can succeed in this ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “adventures with kefir

Add yours

  1. Kefir granules so not work in every type of milk. We make two types of kefir, full fat and no fat on regular basis using ultra heated milk. Granules will work at any temperatures, but the texture depends on granules to milk ratio and the temperature itself. I like thick and not too sour kefir which I make keeping the container some time refrigerated to slow the process. It also helps to keep the growth of granules under control, they multiply very quickly. At some stage you will have an excess of kefir, which we use to make cottage cheese, either in natural, not heated procedure, or the in the quick version, just by adding the equal amount of kefir to boiling milk. The best kefir to make cottage cheese is the sour one. Good luck in your experiments

    Liked by 1 person

          1. I am sure that with time you will discover the best taste and texture of kefir that suits your taste. For us cottage cheese was just the necessary product to utilise the excess of kefir. I now use it in my baking, which allows to make more nutritionally balanced baking products, decrease flour content and increase protein content in them, thus increasing their nutritional value. And in terms of the price, the product is 5 or more times cheaper, compared to commercial one. The quality differs, as well.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. i cannot wait to add the whey or kefir to one of my sourdough loaves ๐Ÿ™‚ as per the cheese: i love it but the commercial ones are bloating me and making me gain weight. so I really would like to keep away from them, at least partially. with these robust grains, I hope to have natural spread/cheese that my body agrees. we all will see how this will develop ๐Ÿ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I don’t know if I’d ever be brave enough to make it. The furthest I ever got was homemade yogurt. I love the taste of the store bought variety. Would this support better gut bacteria because it’s not mass produced and doesn’t have a single organism in it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am hoping it is healthier because it is all natural (no additives) and they say there are many different bacteria and yeast in kefir grains that can also colonize colon (and support colon health – they say). I like it its taste and the excitement of experimenting with the grains. so far so good ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

