The Queen of all bread; sourdough with kefir


IMG_1382
but…but… but… can you see what I see? Is that not GORGEOUS!? 🙂 🙂

I am hooked to this combination and I suspect that I will always bake sourdough with kefir from now on.

I have not tasted anything quite like this, nor eaten a softer sourdough that I have baked. The slight salty taste, the crumb (the best so far), and the smell of this sourdough will fill my dreams – I can tell you that with confidence.

The recipe is quite basic like any other sourdough I have baked;

1. I added to 1 cup of whole wheat starter fed twice (Friday night and Saturday morning), 2tbs of sugar and 1 cup of kefir – mixed well with a spoon until it become somehow frothy (it does become frothy quite easily). Then added 2 cups of bread flour and 1.5 tbs of salt. Mixed and formed a shaggy dough.

This dough formed quite fast without needing to mix too much – I give it to kefir.       Somehow it helped bond the dough and voila! I had that healthy looking and soft             dough. As it was my practice the last few weeks, I made sure the dough was slightly           sticky while adding the flour.

2. I then left it at room temperature covered with a clean towel and stretched and folded 4-5 times time to time. The next day, I shaped it, and left for proving in a bowl covered with a clean cloth and sprinkled with generous amount of sesame and poppy seeds. It proved for 6.5 hours at room temperature in a plastic bag.

3. I baked it in non-preheated oven; 375 F for 15 min first, then 25 min at 350 F (the seeds burn pretty quick if the temperature is high), and then left in a turned off oven for an additional 5 min.

Give it a try and let me know whether you also agree that this is the best sourdough ever! 🙂

 

IMG_1360
mother of sourdough – the happy and active starter
IMG_1362
kefir – I am hesitant to add it but I read that others tried baking bread with kefir, so here comes a fresh batch of kefir
IMG_1363
the initial shaggy dough – do not worry – it will form just fine
IMG_1365
at the end of stretch and folds; ready to rest overnight
IMG_1367
and the next morning it has risen all nice and fluffy 🙂
IMG_1369
shaped and left for proving
IMG_1371
6.5 hours later, it seems to have proven quite a bit – exciting 🙂
IMG_1373
the seeds look great! sadly I also deflated it a little bit while taking it from the bowl onto the parchment paper.. feeling nervous….
IMG_1375
i deflated the dough a little bit more while scoring…. not my best day – next time I will have to handle this dough with a little bit more care
IMG_1382
but…but… but… can you see what I see? Is that not GORGEOUS!? 🙂 🙂
IMG_1401
and the crumb is my finest so far – kefir and sourdough have formed a great collaboration. This bread will be a classic at my house from now on
8 thoughts on “The Queen of all bread; sourdough with kefir

Add yours

  1. Pretty looking crumb. I’m curious how you transferred it to the parchment for baking. I put a sheet of parchment paper over the bowl, then a baking sheet and flip the banneton. Then I slash the loaf and transfer the parchment sheet into the dutch oven and bake. It’s the gentlest way I know. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

