bread with sun flower seeds


While trying to revive my dried sourdough starter, here is the bread I have baked using the commercial yeast.

 

 

Recipe:

1/2 tbs yeast, 1 cup 2% milk, 1 cup water (warm milk and water together first), 2 tbs sugar; mix well and activate the yeast for 10 min (cover the bowl)

add 3 tbs salt, 9 cups of bread flour, mix and form a dough

cover and stretch and fold 3-4 times (around 20-30 min rest in between)

rest at fridge over night

in the morning. take the dough out and bring to room temp ~3 hours

shape the dough and rest 5 min

work on the shape of the dough, and place it in a bowl with clean cloth and sprinkled with generous amount of sun flower seeds

put in a large plastic bag and prove at room temp for 4 hours (in the last 30 min I put it in an oven warmed to 100F)

score and bake at a non-pre-heated oven at 375F for 45 min (oven on) and an additional 15 min (oven off)

take out, sprinkle some water over the loaf, and let cool down

Bon appetite!

 

PS: since Β this loaf is going to a friend of mine, I did not cut it out and hence I have no idea how the crumb is. But the oven spring was amazing and the fact that the loaf kept its round shape, I am hopeful that the crumb too is good πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “bread with sun flower seeds

Add yours

  1. Great looking loaf. You got a nice oven spring which kind of surprised me after the long final proofing time. My dough is usually doubled and more than ready for the oven in 45 min in a 78 deg F kitchen.

    I need to use more seeds in my breads … but every time I buy sunflower seeds, I end up snacking on them. My last bag was used for some shiso pesto and sprinkled on a single salad. I snacked on the rest. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am surprised with that too. I think either it was because a kind of too sense as a dough (it did not even rise well during the first 3.5 hours of proving) that helped it keep the shape, or I was lucky with the scoring this time. I usually deflate while scoring. this time I wet the knife prior to scoring and it helped with quick slashes. I guess I need something really sharp to do the scoring without deflating it. In any way I was very impressed with the oven spring and how well it turned out. I eat all the seeds and i was able to spare some for this one! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That looks delicious! I have bought a loaf of honey sunflower bread last week and I love it! I just cannot eat too much because of the high carb but I treat myself to a slice. You are becoming a bread master :). I love reading about your experiments. Have a wonderful day!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

