sewing may be my newest hobby :)


Since I used my little portable sewing machine to sew myself cloths to use during baking last weekend, I cannot keep thinking about how enjoyable that activity, the feeling of being capable of and self-sustaining were.

I want to buy a sewing machine!

I can sew table cloths, napkins, bread bags, curtains, pillow cases, and make quilts, embroidery and much more! I can repair my clothes. I can re-purpose whatever I have. I can make gifts for family and friends. After many trials and errors of course 🙂

I really am excited about this idea.

I want to be an informed consumer; one thing I would hate would be to buy a machine that would not be comfortable to use, or suitable for my projects. I was looking at the internet and there are so many different brands and models – which one is it that I would like to get? I know I am looking for a beginners/intermediate level model that allows me to sew, quilt, and make embroidery. I know I need a machine that have many stitch options and allows me to adjust the stitch length and width. I will need a machine that fits many different foots suitable for my needs, hopefully coming with the purchase as accessories but not needing extra purchases and thus inflating the cost. I know I can get a mechanical or electrical one, and hopefully with a lot of room on the right side of the needle to help comfortably handle the fabric. I also would love a light machine that does not produce a lot of noise while operating. Something that can handle thin and thick fabric would be nice, too. I will keep reading to find out what else I need to be aware of while selecting my sewing machine.

Information, however, is overwhelming and somehow putting me off; so if you, the dear reader, have any recommendations, please feel free to share in the comment area.

I am thinking I can catch up the holiday sales if I can make my mind till then. I really would love to spend as little as possible. I considered the second hand ones and actually found a nice Singer sewing machine at $60, but I decided it was not worth it. A new one is probably the best bet with all the accessories available with the purchase (if possible). Plus, I can trust that the machine is at good condition.

So, with this decision, my next hurdle is to identify how to save for money to purchase this lovely addition to my life. I am perfectly capable of buying it right now, but honestly there is something nice about saving for it first by cutting expenses in other areas.

I have 6 weeks till the holiday season to save around $200-300. Wish me luck my friends 🙂

11 thoughts on “sewing may be my newest hobby :)

Add yours

  1. When my parents got me a sewing machine for high school graduation, I must admit I was disappointed. 38 years later and I still use it. I think as long as you get a good brand, new or used probably won’t matter. Mine is a Singer and going strong!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. that is so awesome! I know Singer usually comes with 25 years warranty, but 38 years of use is incredible! you obviously did great care of it. That also gives me more trust on used machines now – thanks for making me get this finally 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck! I hope you find a great deal! Someone gave my daughter a used one that was nice but something was bent and it never worked quite right. She got another used one from someone else and that one worked great.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I got my first machine when I was 13, I’m now 25. It was a brother, so therefore for a beginner sewing machine that you can do most tasks on, I would suggest the LS14, they are really cheap, so if you break it you won’t feel so bad about it.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I cannot wait to get one and bring it home 🙂 I wish I could find the right model/brand and with a great price 🙂 I sure will post the pictures. the first ones will be weird and funny, hah ha 🙂 but I am okay with that 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

